[  3  /  a  /  adv  /  an  /  c  /  cgl  /  ck  /  cm  /  co  /  diy  /  fa  /  fit  /  g  /  i  /  ic  /  jp  /  k  /  lit  /  m  /  mlp  /  mu  /  n  /  o  /  p  /  po  /  q  /  sci  /  sp  /  tg  /  toy  /  trv  /  tv  /  v  /  vg  /  vp  /  w  /  wg  /  wsg  /  x  ]

/v/ Video Games

Warning: All the content of this page originally come from 4chan.org. This is only a partial archive made to avoid destruction. Some posts and images may be missing. All the messages below have been posted by anonymous users and we do not guarantee any truth of what they said.
For any illegal content, please contact me so that I can immediatly destroy it!

Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:27:05 No.172602345

[Missing image file: AliensColonialMarines.jpg]

what do you think about this /v/

tell me your true opinion


>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:28:27 No.172602456
I think it's likely to suck even more than the last AvP, which I enjoyed despite the massive gaping flaws.

I don't want it to, since I love the Aliens franchise and it's been ages since we got a good game.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:30:36 No.172602631
It looks like a generic shooter, I wouldn't even call it a horror shooter. It had potential with the squad interaction and lack of HUD they were initially going for, then they completely scrapped it and added a shitty HUD. The guns look and sound weak as piss, almost like nerf-guns, yet gameplay-wise they're the complete opposite and absolutely wreck the aliens shit. There is no acid blood, they've got "different types of aliens" and there are HUD indicators everywhere like peoples names popping up over their heads. It also has Co-op which completely detracts form any atmosphere the game could have possible had, which doesn't look like much to begin with.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:34:22 No.172602942
Good atmosphere, shit gameplay
destroying the lore

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:34:56 No.172602992
>>172602631

Basically this.

They seemed to be headed in the right direction initially. Game focused on alien v. marine combat in a claustrophobic environment. Minimal HUD, focus on keeping everything realistic to the franchise. But then I guess someone got killed and it as all taken over by Call of Dooty Kiddies.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:35:00 No.172602995
Could go either way

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:35:45 No.172603050
>>172602631
Acid blood was brought back

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:36:39 No.172603118
>>172603050

Are you sure? Last I heard play testers hated it and they took it out.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:37:05 No.172603149
Looks good. Will wait for reviews and might buy when on sale since I'm poor.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:37:29 No.172603189
>>172603118
Yeah, I'm pretty sure it was confirmed back in. You also can't have the motion tracker out without putting away your gun

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:38:07 No.172603230
>>172602631

Co-op is the only thing that redeems it...why do people think every game should be played by yourself? You have friends, play with them

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:38:57 No.172603304
>>172603230
It's also separate from the single player, so I see no harm.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:39:12 No.172603324
>>172602345
Going to rent it first. I'm going in knowing I'm not going to play a horror game. Have a few friends that are going to get it so we can play multiplayer. Even though it will most likely be a bland L4D clone.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:39:46 No.172603369

[Missing image file: 1357601558036.jpg]
Left 4 Dead Call of Duty in Space disguised as an Alien game.

>we want Call of Duty AND Left 4 dead audience while trying to fool fans of Alien with movie references

>pls buy this game look at all the ALIEN look this was in the movie pls buy LOOK AT THE ALIEN LOOK AT THIS SHARP STICK IT'S ALIEN
>GEARBOX

Nope.

Nope.

Nope.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:40:50 No.172603467
>>172603230

Because there is no tension in co-op, co-op ruins tension and immersion which detracts from the atmosphere of games that focus so heavily on atmosphere. It's the same reason the Dead Space 3 co-op is a retarded idea.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:43:08 No.172603662
>>172603118
Acid blood causes damage on all modes besides easy

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:44:02 No.172603739
You are all replying to a MARKETER

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:44:26 No.172603774
>>172603739
>Caring

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:45:28 No.172603859
>>172603739
How do I know you're not an evil anti-marketer trying to sabotage Gearbox's hardworking and honest marketer?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:46:02 No.172603905
>>172603739
OP here I am an unemployed virgin wearing pajamas

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:46:13 No.172603920
>>172603739
Most people decided not to buy this game after seeing threads like this.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:46:31 No.172603942
If it gets above a 7/10 in the reviews I might consider buying it when it hits the bargain bin. Otherwise I'll skip it like that AVP garbage. Honestly I'd rather watch one of the first two movies then waste my time on a trash game with the Alien name.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:46:56 No.172603982
>>172603905
How come every single Colonial Marines thread has the same picture?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:47:26 No.172604020
inb4 viral
Played it at pax, waited in line to play it twice.

L4D versus mode felt just like the movie, perfect blend of theme and gameplay type.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:47:30 No.172604029
>>172603982
Because it's one of the first that shows up on google images?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:47:51 No.172604060
>>172603942
>If it gets above a 7/10 in the reviews

It'll get about 8/9 out of 10 because money.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:48:08 No.172604079
>>172603859
>implying i'm not

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:48:29 No.172604107
>>172604060
Sega doesn't have money to pay for reviews

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:48:29 No.172604108
It'll be shit.
It had potential, now it doesn't.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:49:12 No.172604170

[Missing image file: gigersalien.png]
Looks like garbage.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:49:28 No.172604190

[Missing image file: 1bodysnatchers.jpg]
>>172603982
>>172604029
OH MY GOD, THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID ABOUT BORDERLANDS.

AND WHO MADE BORDERLANDS AND COLONIAL MARINES!?

ALIENS!

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:50:10 No.172604245
>>172604190
You do realize most recurring threads use the same few images right?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:50:18 No.172604253
Not that I had any to begin with but they pretty much killed all interest I had by making the "shark sticks" and the "sonic electronic ball breakers" an actual weapon used by the marines.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:50:42 No.172604290
GEARBOX WILL MAKE A WONDERFUL GAME JUST LIKE THAT ONE GAME THEY MADE 10 YEARS AGO.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:51:55 No.172604393
>>172604245
You realise that's completely irrelevant now that the witch hunt has begun anew?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:52:43 No.172604476
>>172604290
Halo for Mac/PC

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:53:09 No.172604509
>>172604476

As if they deserve any credit for that.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:53:10 No.172604510
I've never seen Aliens, should I bother?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:53:33 No.172604543
I hate that they're adding stupid fucking new aliens

muh lore

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:53:51 No.172604568
>>172604510

Watch the original first. Yes, you should bother.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:07 No.172604594
>>172604510
Yes, start at the beginning with Alien though.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:17 No.172604613
>>172604510
Of course not. The special effects are outdated, the story makes no sense and the characters are flat as cardboard. Waste of time.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:23 No.172604630

[Missing image file: aliens-CM-CE.jpg]
Any game with this much special edition pre-order garbage is going to be utter shit.

Think about it. Look at all the money that's gone into making all of this crap. Money that has been earmarked for marketing. Money that could have gone to, oh I don't know, musical score, voice acting, storyboard or graphic artists.

They are selling you hype, not a video game.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:32 No.172604642

[Missing image file: image.jpg]
>>172604509

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:54 No.172604675
>>172604510

Just watch the first one.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:54:59 No.172604683
>>172604630
That money was spent by the marketing department, totally seperate

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:55:35 No.172604740
>>172604630
>Phase Plasma Rifle
In 40 Watt range?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:55:47 No.172604754

[Missing image file: 704138_338512932914250_19(...).jpg]
>>172604543

New aliens wouldn't be so bad if they werent awful deviantart/kenner toy tier.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:56:27 No.172604814
>>172604630
You know what really gets me tough? It's not the shitty plastic figurines, but the extra exlusive DLC they get. I bet that you'll not be able to unlock it in-game, so if they're good it gives an unfair advantage to others. Basically pay2win.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:56:44 No.172604839
>>172604510
Watch Alien and Aliens, both fantastic movies for different reasons.
After that though things go downhill pretty badly.
AvP 1 is the definition of a popcorn movie and AvP 2 is one of the worst pieces of garbage I've ever seen. There you go.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:56:57 No.172604860
>>172604510
Watch Alien, as for Aliens...

It was a great movie when it came out, but by no fault of it's own it has kind of been fucked up. Every single line from the movie has been quoted/referenced over and over again timeless times in every science fiction movie since. Watching the movie will seem like a series of overused lines

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:56:58 No.172604862
>>172604754
This isnt real, right?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:00 No.172604867
>>172604630
Someone doesn't understand how budgeting works.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:13 No.172604886

[Missing image file: It Breaths Fire in the Ne(...).jpg]
Anyone remember when this was first announced? Didn't they mention that you'd be in the Sulaco with randomized campaign (You'd be set up in a certain area and Aliens would attack without it being scripted).

That sounded a whole lot cooler than Left 4 De- errr, this.

Can someone post that picture showing off the special infected, that you can play as in multiplayer?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:29 No.172604920
>>172604754
>generic alien
>generic name
>generic ability

GEARBOX does it again!

Game of they year!

10/10 take my money!

>but but i like to eat shit

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:32 No.172604925
>>172604630

>sonic electronic ball breakers

oh so he wasn't joking? That wasn't a show of moronic bravado thematically used to make his eventual crushing defeat more effective?

Good job gearbox.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:35 No.172604931
Looks awful. Get out of here Gearbox.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:42 No.172604942
>>172604754
The only one I don't really like is the Crusher

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:42 No.172604943

[Missing image file: Aliens_Motion_Tracker_2_b(...).gif]
On what grounds are people saying this game will be bad?

What media has been released that I am unaware of?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:57:52 No.172604953

[Missing image file: 1348921030890.jpg]
>>172604510
No you shouldnt. Watch the Original, and then nothing else, Aliens is a shitty fucking sequel, basically murrica FUCK YEAH but in Space. It also completely destroyed the alien concept, turned it from interesting xenomorphs into generic space ants

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:58:34 No.172605007
>>172604886
>Didn't they mention that you'd be in the Sulaco with randomized campaign
No, the only details we got were
>Set between Aliens and Alien 3
>No HUD
>Co-Op based

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:58:34 No.172605010

[Missing image file: 1358805231086.jpg]
>>172604630
>Sonic Electronic Ball Breakers

Sounds like a lot of fun.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:59:01 No.172605059
>>172604862
its from a game called Aliens 4 Dead

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:59:22 No.172605091
>>172604920
>Xeno Boiler
>generic name

what the hell else is called that

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:59:41 No.172605115
>>172604925
He said
>SONIC ELECTRONIC HULL BREAKERS

Check the fucking manual, it's fucking there.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:59:45 No.172605121

[Missing image file: Xeno-lurker.jpg]
>>172604862

haha of course it is

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 07:59:46 No.172605123
>>172604683
>>172604867

And where does marketing's budget come from? It's not separate, their budget is dictated from above and that much money put into the department shows a clear sign that they are being relied on to push this game HARD.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:16 No.172605175
>>172605115

Stop posting that in every goddamn thread.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:27 No.172605196
>>172605121
dat complete rip off of the hunter

god damn

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:34 No.172605205
>>172604925
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bo2g0S7U1mI

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:36 No.172605206
>>172605091
Apparently anything that implies an explodey, gooey nature is automatically called a BOOMER.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:44 No.172605218
>>172604943
>On what grounds are people saying this game will be bad?

Experience.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:48 No.172605224
>>172605123
It is, the marketing department gets it's own money. This is why movie/game budgets never include the amount spend on marketing

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:00:52 No.172605231
>>172604953
>asically murrica FUCK YEAH but in Space

the marines were raped and the survivors were 2 girls, a robot, and 1 marine

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:01:06 No.172605248

[Missing image file: 1350603089247.png]
I really want this to be good. Haven't had a good alien/predator universe since avp. God help us.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:01:43 No.172605305
>>172605007

I swear there was a Game Informer that showed off details with things not being scripted, and you'd be forced to hold down area, last second due to a large swarm of Aliens rushing towards you.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:02:06 No.172605343
>>172605123
Maybe because every game that doesn't spend that much or marketing crashes and burns, making the entire investment worthless?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:02:07 No.172605345
>>172605248

No game with that much pre-order shit has ever been good.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:02:13 No.172605353
>>172604953
Yeah thats why a civillian, a little girl and a moderate, level headed marine were the ones who survived after everyone got raped about 20 minutes after they got there.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:02:26 No.172605371

[Missing image file: wat.jpg]
>>172605115
jesus christ we had this argument earlier today. IT'S BALLBREAKERS YOU MONGOLOID!! I even re watched it with subtitles today and he says sonic electronic ball breakers.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:02:31 No.172605375
>>172605305

That was back when the game was supposed to be a tactical squad shooter. It was turned into left 4 aliens.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:03:18 No.172605451
>>172605305
I remember the article you are talking about, it didn't give any real details besides what I mentioned.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:03:26 No.172605469
>>172605115
Are you a fucking moron or just a troll.
>>172604630

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:03:57 No.172605512
>>172605121
>FASTEST ALIEN

If he was so fast, everybody would be dead in a split second.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ESkX1gRmfhM

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:04:23 No.172605543
>>172604860
So much this, some friends got me to watch the movie with them a few months ago. I actually felt like I had heard every single line before.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:04:54 No.172605590
Okay, lets just check how generic this is.
Is there a multiplayer mode where players can play as the different types of Aliens? If there is I'll just laugh and forget this existed.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:05:15 No.172605625

[Missing image file: lel.png]

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:05:25 No.172605641
>>172605345
You're right, but a man can dream. Besides, I really wouldn't mind if it's like L4D as long as it does it right.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:05:52 No.172605692

[Missing image file: alien_xenomorph_by_garatu(...).png]
>>172605375

> Motion tracker differentiates between threats and allies now
> Claim they want to maintain as much of the aesthetics as possible
> Give the Pulse Rifle iron sights
> Aliens can out match a Predator in strength
> Marine shoves one off of him

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:06:15 No.172605723
>>172605121

>Supposed to be based on the alien from the first movie
>Is the fastest alien in the game

did they just get everything wrong on purpose

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:06:22 No.172605735
>>172604943
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIpUEjFFHA

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:06:42 No.172605758
>>172605206
It's Boiler, not Boomer.

>>
Great Grey Wolf Sif 2013-01-22 08:06:45 No.172605760
>>172605345
There have been a few, but very very few western games. This is giving me DNF flashbacks.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:07:36 No.172605851

[Missing image file: 2.gif]
>>172604754

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:07:42 No.172605863
My true opinion

I'm picking it up, day 1. Dont give any fucks about what /v/ has to say about it. The only problem I have with this game is iron sights and I've been following it since day 1 so I know about all the "flaws" /v/ bitches about

Eat a dick I preorderd the collectors edition.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:08:17 No.172605923

[Missing image file: The truth.jpg]

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:08:22 No.172605932

[Missing image file: pulse-rifle.jpg]
>>172605692
The Pulse Rifle always had iron sites Otherwise it wouldn't be a functional weapon you fucking idiot, and there aren't any predators in this game

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:08:36 No.172605950
>>172605692
This, the latest AVP game was ruined by turning it in to some kind of weird rock paper scissors fighting game.
How the fuck does a human "block" an alien claw swipe with handgun? It should just rip his arm clean off.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:01 No.172605983
>>172605851
whats that from

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:03 No.172605986
>>172605851

Giger would be rolling in his grave, if he was dead.

What happened to this creature being a disturbing metaphor for rape and childbirth?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:13 No.172606002

[Missing image file: 1358496926378.png]
>>172605863

AHAHAHA

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:30 No.172606020
>>172605986
zzzzz who cars granda

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:50 No.172606046
>game design meeting
> "Ok guys we need designs for some different aliens to give them some variety"
> A "Well Alien vs Predator 2 had those. An alien that sacrificed armor for speed, the regular alien, a large one that sacrificed its speed and wall climbing ability to have lots of health. If we follow tha-"
> B" OH MY GOD WHY DONT WE JUST COPY LEFT 4 DEAD? WE CAN HAVE ONE ALIEN THAT EXPLODES IN ACID AND ANOTHER THAT LANDS ON MARINES LIKE A HUNTER. THEN WE CAN HAVE THIS MASSIVE TANK LIKE ONE AS WELL"
> A "But that is stupid. The aliens from AVP2 made sense as they still stuck to the basic design of the aliens and served an actual purpose in the hive. What your suggesting is purely gimmicky and makes the aliens less frighte-"
> B "LEFT 4 DEAD AUDIENCE!"
> "B makes a good point, we will go with his idea"
> A silently broods planning out his workplace shooting with B at the top of the list.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:09:59 No.172606059
>>172605735
Uh, yeah? Are you guys saying it's generic cod-esque're something?

What's the problem? I saw one of these presentations at a con, like this exact demo.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:10:01 No.172606061
>>172605851
Is that a lambent xenomorph?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:10:41 No.172606117
>>172605950

Actually, people on the forums have a thread about how a single marine could defeat one in combat without problems.

They are even saying that you can use melee weapons on them.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:11:15 No.172606171

[Missing image file: 1.gif]
>>172605983
The survivor mode trailer.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:11:27 No.172606187
looks generic as fuck, day 1 pirate, maybe if you crank up the difficulty to max and play it with some bro's it might be fun

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:11:35 No.172606196
>>172606117
>press X to takedown

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:11:44 No.172606212

[Missing image file: tumblr_m6f4trYc8V1qmzkc1.jpg]
>>172606117

Wut

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:11:49 No.172606219
>>172606171
post more.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:12:10 No.172606257
It's fucking awful. A worse version of Left 4 Dead.

>>
Great Grey Wolf Sif 2013-01-22 08:12:48 No.172606304
>>172605735
>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIpUEjFFHA
I made it to 5:30 and had to stop. This looks disappointingly bland so far, does it get better?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:13:09 No.172606330
>>172606117
yeah, that's exactly why Dallas just punched out the one in the air ducts... oh wait...

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:13:11 No.172606335
When I saw the non-gearbox prototype I thought it would be like left4dead meets aliens

When I saw what gearbox was actually doing with it I was like "Sweet"

I can't really complain, got just what I asked for

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:13:19 No.172606347

[Missing image file: bullshit.jpg]

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:13:37 No.172606375

[Missing image file: 1341504920001.jpg]
>>172605512

>Aliens will never be this fast again

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:14:04 No.172606413
god damn it and here I was wanting this to be really good

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:14:22 No.172606448
>>172606335
This was always Gearbox, unless you mean the PS2 game that was cancelled before they actually showed anything I think

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:14:30 No.172606462
>>172605231
>>172605353
It's not about who survived but about how they de-established the menace that alien once was.
Space bugs here, space bugs there. What we gonna do?
Shoot it; burn it; drive over it; nuke it; drop it from orbit.

>marines were raped
Not because how dreadful and merciless aliens were but because of how many of them there were.

It's a great action flick.
It's a poor Alien movie.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:14:52 No.172606494
>>172606304
No, but that is very old footage

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:11 No.172606516

[Missing image file: 1351703790636.gif]
>>172606347
I CAN'T BREATHE.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:27 No.172606540
It's about time this game is coming out. It's been in development since 2008 right?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:31 No.172606548

[Missing image file: 3.gif]
>>172606219
Unfortunately this is all I have of the boiler. But here is the trailer good sir,
http://youtu.be/NbF4xozplqg

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:32 No.172606553
Look fellas, it's no secret this is totally a ripoff of Left 4 Dead.

However, is it not the most perfect match of game formula and theme?

Of course there will be goofy classes of alien, otherwise there is no variety.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:37 No.172606563

[Missing image file: ACMCOMMERCIAL2_zps325eaa7c.jpg]
My work here is done.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:39 No.172606567
>>172605758
The joke, your head, etc.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:46 No.172606578
>>172606347

What am I looking at here?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:47 No.172606579
Started out optimistic for it but the more I see the less I like. Color coded tracking device really heats my oats.

>>172604754
It is sad how much people suck Gearbox's cock these days. I asked a guy what the hell a Xeno would even impregnate to produce that and his response was someone with a weak immune system. He was dead serious too.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:54 No.172606590
>>172605932

> The Pulse Rifle always had iron sites

Yeah, okay.

Look at the fucking trailer again, they add full fledged iron-sights. It looks completely off, if you've played all the other games.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:15:59 No.172606598
>>172606347

I don't get it. What am I looking at here?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:16:02 No.172606604
>>172606462
Too bad you are in the minority here. Alien is not a film you can make twice, this is why Alien 3 didn't work. It could only ever be scary once.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:16:21 No.172606642

[Missing image file: 1341520735268.gif]
>>172606548

Xenomorph this

Xenomorph that

I fucking hate that name.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:16:44 No.172606687
>>172606578
>>172606598
Hicks.

He never died in Alien 3.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:16:51 No.172606698
>>172606347
Are you saying you actually LIKE Alien 3?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:16:52 No.172606701
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=rBIpUEjFFHA#t=320s
What the fuck? My grandmother could take a beating better than that?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:00 No.172606716
>>172606598
>>172606578
it's hicks, he's suppose to be dead

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:17 No.172606738
>>172606642

It's fine. Xenos is also fine.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:17 No.172606739
>>172606578
It's two different games sharing the exact same model, this is beyond lazy for a dev.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:27 No.172606751
everyone complains about play testers ruining games

why don't you work as one /v/?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:33 No.172606761
>>172606604

Aliens wouldn't have been so bad if they'd stuck to Alien's tone, instead of making it a ridiculous cartoon ride and turning the alien into a giant ant.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:34 No.172606763
>>172606553
An Alien game based around hardcore open-world (ship) survival would be infinitely better.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:36 No.172606767
My only real complaint is how people keep drawing contrasts with Call Of Duty just because they want to hate the game. Its Left 4 Aliens, they only thing it has similar to COD is ironsights.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:43 No.172606781
>>172606548
Wasn't there already a fucking type of Xeno that fit what the soldier is? Why did Gearbox have to create their own special one for it?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:17:50 No.172606792
>can't play as a xenomorph

Yeah, nah, ain't buying that
Being the Xenomorph was always the best part in all Alien games

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:05 No.172606809
>>172606698
Not him, but I never really understood the hate for it.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:06 No.172606810
>>172606553
How dare you show optimism? Who the hell do you think you are?

great not perfect, but we have to wait and see for execution

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:20 No.172606831

[Missing image file: 32432423423.jpg]
>>172606738
XENOS?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:32 No.172606843
>>172606738

Alien is perfect. Its a verb AND a noun. It makes the thing just... Alien. You can't classify it.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:34 No.172606846
>>172606792
but you can, just only in multiplayer

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:18:39 No.172606853
>>172606792
Thats AVP you are thinking about.

And you can play as an alien...in MP in third person.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:19:08 No.172606887
>>172606751
Being a playtester is fucking horrible, and if it's a company like Valve they won;t even consider you once they realise you've got two working braincells.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:19:28 No.172606924
>>172606853
Why did they have to make it third person? I loved that fish eye view the xenos had in the AVP games.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:19:42 No.172606951

[Missing image file: 4.gif]
>>172606642
Remember, you have to repeat what they are every 4 seconds or people will get confused.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:19:54 No.172606965
>>172606563
Doesnt that look like one of the older designs for the aliens?
Or the prototype or whatever.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:05 No.172606981
>>172606924
Because consoles.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:09 No.172606990
>>172606843
Yeah because that works in a Universe with many kinds of Aliens

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:16 No.172607005

[Missing image file: rev.jpg]
>>172606701

>Thats what we call a close encounter! LOL GET IT?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:21 No.172607012
>>172606853
Third person Xeno? I don't think that would work out well

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:28 No.172607021
>>172606924
2 reasons.

Console players get sick.

And its more interesting.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:40 No.172607039
>>172606981
No, playtesters

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:43 No.172607045
>>172605625
I thought Hudson was joking around? You know, like actual wooden sticks. Same thing with the ballbreakers.

What's next, chickenshit camo, as referenced by Hudson?
The "You can count me out of everything" perk, as referenced by Hudson?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:45 No.172607047
>>172602345
I don't know what to think OP, I want it to be good but it's probably not going to be.
I want to get in early but I don't want to buy a bad game at full price.

I dunno, I'm realy conflicted

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:52 No.172607059
>>172606965
It looks like the hybrid from Alien: Resurrection

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:20:57 No.172607068
My main problem with Alien 3 is that they set up a good potential storyline in Aliens involving Hicks and Newt, who were both pretty good characters in their own right, not Ripley level but nevertheless.
Alien 3 just came along and brushed all of that aside and stuck Ripley somewhere else alone yet again. The formula could have been refreshed but they just made a turd of a movie based on the same plot ideas that started off Aliens to begin with. I really wish it was never made because it paved a path for the even worse Alien 4.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:21:06 No.172607078
>>172606965
it;s the xeno from "Alien"

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:21:18 No.172607096
>>172606951
XENU HURSCHLDR

ERRR FAST DEERRRR AGILE FIRRLRL VERB

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:21:19 No.172607103
>>172606990

Good thing avp isn't canon then.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:21:27 No.172607119
>>172607078
But look at the design.

You can see the skull.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:21:41 No.172607137
>>172606924
Casuals complained about having a poor sense of direction while wall crawling.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:10 No.172607178
>>172607119
you can see it in the movie too

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:13 No.172607187
>>172607103
Not including the predators, there are many species of (non-intelligent) alien lifeforms

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:17 No.172607190
>>172605932
I think that's more of a complaint on the addition of the mechanic, which turns everything into a slow shitshow in every game that has them.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:24 No.172607205

[Missing image file: Giger_Alien_CG_frontpose001.jpg]
>>172607119

Its a bad attempt at channeling gigers alien.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:47 No.172607241
>>172607103
Prometheus is though, which also means that Blade Runner is too.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:49 No.172607247
>>172607190
Oh, you mean like a tactical shooter?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:51 No.172607251
>>172607205
>Alien walking like a human

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:22:56 No.172607262

[Missing image file: xeno.jpg]
>>172606965
The original giger xenomorph has a human skull visible. its a homage.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:08 No.172607275

[Missing image file: 1269755175260.jpg]
>>172607068
>Ripley
>Tough gal pilot for no reason
>This is somehow good writing.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:22 No.172607297
>>172607039
Playtesters on consoles.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:33 No.172607315
>>172607262
Thats the one i was thinking about.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:44 No.172607328
>>172607205
Why don't they just hire Giger again?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:50 No.172607332
>>172607297
Valve's PC playtesters are the worst in the industry though

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:23:57 No.172607342
>>172602345
Probably the most bland shooter of the recent years

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:15 No.172607370

[Missing image file: 1353248114254.jpg]
>another alien game

fuck. You know I wish theyd stop trying to make Alien games into action rather then thriller. I mean fuck if you want action go make a Starcraft FPS. Id pay out the fucking nose to play from a Marines point of view or a firebats. Better yet a Deathwatch game, I've wanted one of those ever since the First person opening to Dark Crusade But no instead we get incompetent studios making a game thats all action and no horror outside of 'oh my god they came out of a vent/hole/grate'.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:30 No.172607395
>>172607297
>Trying to rustle the jimmies of console players

Can we have one alien thread not littered with trolls?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:34 No.172607398
>>172607328
He's too busy being a spook

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:37 No.172607405
>>172607328
Because he doesnt want anything to do with Aliens.
And besides, his design is already in the game.
Im pretty sure its the Lurker variant.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:42 No.172607412
>>172607328
his brain is fried from all the coke and lsd he took in the 70's

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:24:57 No.172607438

[Missing image file: 5.gif]
I love how they didn't even try to cover up that they didn't get this from L4D

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:02 No.172607448
>>172607262
That's a fuckign stupid design, i'm glad that they didnt use it

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:18 No.172607472
>>172607137

loved catching marines in narrow hallways where i could do that swift leap and basically wallhop all around him 360 degrees in AVP
also hiss

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:27 No.172607487

[Missing image file: gigersalien12.jpg]
>>172607251

Yeah weird huh? It never did that!

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:37 No.172607506
>>172607438
How many fucking L4D ripoffs are there in this game?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:38 No.172607512
>>172606751
There are two kinds of play testers.

The kind that plays the game in order to test for bugs and errors, is an actual job with a weekly salary and everything, but their opinion on the game itself is not given a fuck most of the time

The kind who plays the game in order to give their opinion on said game, is given a free game or something similar for compensation (Or nothing at all, such as in "Open Beta Tests") but their opinions are what shape the game

I'd rather not be the latter and am glad I am the former

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:44 No.172607519
>>172607370
You know what? Fuck the bullshit, I just want a game with amazing flamethrower mechanics/physics/whateverthefuck and I will be satisfied. Give me anything to burn, and I mean ANYTHING...

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:25:46 No.172607523
>>172607448
Go chop off your dick you cock gobler

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:19 No.172607563
>>172607472
You can still do that

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:21 No.172607568

[Missing image file: 1356712370584.jpg]
>>172607448
They did use it

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:40 No.172607608

[Missing image file: 1346953535889.png]
>>172607370
I blame Dead Space, it popularized this fucking jump scare bullshit that gets shoehorned into everything that could possibly be considered "scary".

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:41 No.172607612
>>172607519
Alone in the Dark.

Or even Far Cry1/2/3

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:41 No.172607613

[Missing image file: 2.jpg]
>>172607448

They did, they just smoked up the dome.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:50 No.172607627
>>172607519
Play Far Cry 2 or 3

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:26:58 No.172607638
>>172607251
The original xenomorph was supposed to walk upright and everything. Cameron twisted them into space bugs.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:27:20 No.172607676
>>172607251
They are upright because the host is human

the dinosaur legs aren't the original xenos

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:27:22 No.172607682
>>172607412
Seriously
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DkvzPnODNTQ

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:27:22 No.172607683

[Missing image file: 1357033808717.jpg]
>>172607487
>MFW i realized the alien sodomized her with its tail

i had no idea for all these years....

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:27:50 No.172607713

[Missing image file: gigersalien13.jpg]
>>172607683

Gimme some sugar baby

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:28:04 No.172607734
Just so I've looked at this correctly; strictly marine campaign, yes? No option to play as the aliens?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:28:04 No.172607735
>>172607608
Perhaps popularized it sure, but AVP and Doom 3 were doing this shit eons ago.

They all blew chunks.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:28:28 No.172607765
>>172607683
The alien is basically rape incarnate. Who knows, perhaps it even enjoyed torturing/raping its victims

Too bad Cameron completely destroyed them and made them into brainless space ants drones

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:28:34 No.172607775
>>172607487
That reminds me. I still need to watch the Director's Cut for Alien. Had it sitting around forever but never got around to it.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:28:52 No.172607810
>>172607734
Strictly marine with a co op aspect similar to Dead Space 3.

Aliens are only in MP and in third person.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:01 No.172607821
i was excited until i saw gameplay footage of it. it looks really generic. the way guns control look like a standard FPS. i thought the guns were going to handle more like Metro 2033.

the Online game play is that same as AvP. with Aliens being massively OP.

i was here when /v/ hyped AvP to oblivion.they almost tricked me into buying it.decided to pirate the game once released. it was fucking bad.some people bought the Special Edition,HAHAHAHAHA.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:05 No.172607832

[Missing image file: Xenomorph-aliens-teeth.jpg]
>>172607713

Where da human wimmin at?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:11 No.172607839
>>172607734
No Alien campaign. Can play as them in multiplayer though.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:27 No.172607858
>>172606553
No it's not Zombies are weak alone and become threat once there are enough there.

Xenomorphs are deadly alone and become a severe threat to a whole planet in mass.

The Gameplay of L4D works because Zombies are not a threat alone if the xenomorphs get the same treatment they will become laughable and this game not an Alien game

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:40 No.172607881
>>172607608
>I blame Dead Space, it popularized this fucking jump scare bullshit

Boy I'm glad Resident Evil never had jump scares and wasn't a super popular game series!!

You faggots live in a fucking dream world sometimes.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:42 No.172607889
>>172607810
also alien marine ratio is 1:1

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:50 No.172607906
>>172607832
Its the damn lips that always got to me.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:53 No.172607915
>>172607735
Besides the facehuggers what really got me in AVP was the motion tracker. That shit made the games so tense. The actual xenos themselves did not bother me.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:54 No.172607918
>>172607810
>only in 3rd person

You're talking shit. There's MP footage of them in 1st person.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:29:54 No.172607919
>>172607775

Its okay. Its been so long since I watched the theatrical cut that I can't really remember whats new and what isn't.

From what I hear though the egg morphing scene, while a creepy idea, is a bad addition since it kills the pacing of the finale.

Never really felt any issue with it but I can see the point.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:02 No.172607929
>>172607810
>co op aspect similar to Dead Space 3.
Yeah I forgot DS3 was the pioneer of Co-op play

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:05 No.172607934
>>172607627
>>172607612
I'll admit farcry has the best flamethrower feel so far, but I want to hose an alien down with fuel and send a puff of flames and watch that bitch squeel and burn. Knowwhamsayin?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:11 No.172607941
>>172607906
What do you mean?

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:19 No.172607958

[Missing image file: sadkimcest.jpg]
I just dont want left 4 dead: alien edition. i do not enjoy getting mowed down over and over. playing as the monsters is not fun if it consists of nothing but suicide runs.

i just want 2 things. i want the aliens balanced out against the marines, and i want NONE of those fucking instakill backstab attacks that made the last AVP completely fucking unplayable.

ill get my 2 things, right /v/? right?

i dont give a shit about the campaign i just want a sequel to AVP2

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:23 No.172607968

[Missing image file: dallas.jpg]
>>172607775
its pretty good

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:27 No.172607974
>>172607906

Made of condoms in the original.

>>172607832

I hated that stupid jittery slobbery shit Cameron introduced.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:37 No.172607987
>>172607858
Basic aliens can kill marines in 5 seconds

>>172607889
Only for the special aliens

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:39 No.172607991

[Missing image file: 1279094286874.jpg]
>>172607821
>Aliens
>OP
>In ANY AVP game.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:30:43 No.172608000
>>172607929
I meant in respect that its drop in / drop out.

>>
Anonymous 2013-01-22 08:31:20 No.172608057
>>172607608
But Dead Space was a good game







[  3  /  a  /  adv  /  an  /  c  /  cgl  /  ck  /  cm  /  co  /  diy  /  fa  /  fit  /  g  /  i  /  ic  /  jp  /  k  /  lit  /  m  /  mlp  /  mu  /  n  /  o  /  p  /  po  /  q  /  sci  /  sp  /  tg  /  toy  /  trv  /  tv  /  v  /  vg  /  vp  /  w  /  wg  /  wsg  /  x  ]

Contact me | All the content on this website come from 4chan.org. All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective parties. Images uploaded are the responsibility of the Poster. Comments are owned by the Poster.

Dofus quêtes

Page loaded in 0.024017 seconds.